Maldives re-joined the Commonwealth

Context: After a period of more than 3 years of quitting the Commonwealth on the grounds of criticism of its human rights, the Maldives has now finally re-joined the Commonwealth.

Commonwealth of Nations; Indiathinkers

Maldives pulled out of the Commonwealth in 2016 and now has been formally reinstated into the Commonwealth as its 54th member state.

About Commonwealth of Nations

Formerly known as the British Commonwealth established in 1949 by the London Declaration. It is an intergovernmental organisation of 53 member states that are mostly former territories of the British Empire. It operates by intergovernmental consensus of the member states. 

Head of the Commonwealth — Queen Elizabeth II is the Head of the Commonwealth. The position is symbolic.

They came into existence with the proclamation of sovereignty of the state from the colonial rule of British Empire and were later given self-governance. It proclaims that the Commonwealth nations are “free and equal.” The member states of the commonwealth are not legally liable or bound to each other. They are rather united by language, history, culture, likeness of the democracy, human rights and the rule of law.

Their values are listed down within the Commonwealth Charter and the hands of harmony towards the member states are extended by the Commonwealth Games held every 4 years

Former British mandates that did not become members of the Commonwealth are Egypt, Transjordan, Iraq, British Palestine, Sudan, British SomalilandOmanKuwaitBahrainQatar, and the United Arab Emirates.

Follow us on:



Join us on Telegram:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email